Female Support Worker

Job Reference
PER532426-SJ-3
Salary Description
£11 per hour
Contract Type
Contract
Location
Cambridge
Advert

Female Support Worker in Orwell

£11 per hour

 

About the service user

I am a 32 year old young lady living in Orwell.  I have a physical disability called Spinal Muscular Atrophy.  This means I use an electric wheelchair for all my mobility needs and I need the use of hoisting equipment for all transfers.

 

In 202 I was diagnosed as being on the Autistic Spectrum but generally I cope well.

 

In Sept 2020 I had a stroke.  I had a second stroke in 2021, I am now back to normal as far as my disability allows.  I will need surgery in the future to help my stroke problem.  I also suffer from anxiety.

 

It is very important to me that I have the continuity of regular and reliable carers.  At present I have a small team but I need to expand.

 

I need help with all personal care, all transfers using hoisting equipment and help with light household duties.

 

Hours and rate of Pay

£11 per hour or £120 waking night

3 waking nights per week some include evening hrs (7pm – 9pm) Tues, Thurs & Fri.

Day hours – 2.5 hrs every Thurs morning and 1.5 hrs Fri lunch time every other week.

Other day shifts available at weekends + cover for holidays & sickness.

5.6 weeks holiday – pro rata

 

What you would be doing

Support with personal care in a dignified manner.

 

Light household duties including meal preparation, cooking, washing up, feeding my cats, emptying the bins, general tidying and so on.

 

Administering medication (tablets and syrup, no injections) morning and evening.

The person I would like

No experience necessary, although if you have used hoisting equipment before it is an advantage, you must be ok around cats, as I have 3.

 

You will need your own transport (to get to me as public transport is rubbish).  You should be honest, reliable, have a caring nature and be prepared to establish a close working relationship with me on a 1:1 basis.

 

Discuss and resolve problems as they arise and report to my mum any risks or issues that you feel may affect me.

 

To undertake training as needed.

 

Occasional support on evening trips and the possibility of accompanying me on family holidays.

 

“Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers.  Should your application be successful, and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by the customer and not by PeoplePlus”

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...