Personal Assistant

Job Reference
POW517241(CP)
Salary Description
10.00 per hour
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
Newtown
Advert

JOB DESCRIPTION - Personal Assistant
POW517241

Personal Information

I am a 40-year old male living independently in my adapted bungalow in Newtown. I have cerebral palsy and I am an electric wheelchair user. Although my physical disability is quite severe, my speech and brain work perfectly well. I receive funding to employ my own team of staff to support me 24 hours per day.

I have numerous interests including music, audio books, cooking, riding my trike, and cars. I love to travel about.

I am a very friendly and open-minded person and really enjoy being in the company of others.

I would like to mention that I have bad days and good days, and can suffer some mood swings. During these times I need somebody who is easy going and has lots of patience to assist me.

Purpose of the Job

I receive Direct Payments to employ my own staff. The work will be varied both in and out of my home and involves my personal care, assisting me with transfers to my chair, hoist etc. washing, dressing, support with eating, plus general support within my home, including meal preparation, cooking, cleaning, laundry, changing the bed, ironing and other reasonable tasks. I also need assistance with my exercises, to increase my mobility. I enjoy general socializing and accessing the community etc. I have a specially adapted vehicle, so a full driving license would be essential, so I could be taken on trips out.

Hours of Work

45.75 hrs per 4 week period

Rates of Pay

Wages are paid every 4 weeks.

£10.00 per hour weekdays
£ 10.50 per hour weekends
£ 9.50 per hour for non-waking sleep overs

Holiday
You will have 5.6 weeks paid holiday per year.

Qualifications and Training

No formal training or qualifications required. I am looking for a person with the right attitude, commitment and personality . Informal training is provided. The provision of formal training will be considered.

Tasks and Duties.

• I need someone to come help me out of bed, shower me, dry and dress me.
• Hoist transfers. My bungalow has ceiling tracking throughout.
• I will need assistance with eating and drinking.
• Meal preparation and cooking.
• Assistance with exercising.
• Helping to maintain a clean and tidy home.
• I have my own adapted van but need to be driven, so someone with a full driving license would be essential.
• Accompanying me to the local supermarket.
• Promoting my confidence and independence.
• Ensuring I am safe.
• Driving me to places I find interesting.

• I need someone to support me with my chosen activity. This might include :-
• A trip out in my adapted van in the day or evening. Where necessary, I have 2 PAs to support me.
• A house-based activity.
• Going to a cafe.
• Socializing.
• Riding my trike ( 2 PA support )

Type of Person Best Suited.

An ideal applicant for the job would be :-
• A person of any gender or age.
• Someone comfortable with personal care support, whenever needed.
• Someone to help me enjoy my interests.
• A friendly, easygoing, dependable and reliable person with a good sense of humour.
• A competent driver.
• A calm person who can fit in with my friends and family.
• Someone respectful of my home situation.
• Someone who is patient with a good personality who understands the importance of confidentiality.
• Someone who has their own transport to get to work at irregular hours.
• Someone that could be flexible with hours of work, suitable to their lifestyle.
• Someone that respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in somebody else’s home.
• Someone who respects my needs and how I like things done.
• Someone who’s outgoing.
• Experience is not essential, just the right characteristics, a positive commitment and right attitude to this type of work.

About your Employment

I will be your employer and I will give you an employment contract. I will want you to work a trial period or probationary period of 6 months. This will enable both of us to see if the working relationship is good for us both.

I will use the People Plus Independent Living Payroll Service which means I will pay you by BACs transfer. Your national insurance number will be required because this will be a proper job.

 

 

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...