Personal assistant/Carer

Job Reference
Per500709 (12)
Salary Description
8.91
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
Stoke-on-Trent
Advert

Job Description

Job Title:            Personal Assistant/Care worker

Location:            Fegg Hayes, Stoke-on-Trent, ST6

Day/Times:        As and when required

Hours:                 Up to 4 hours per week

Rate of pay:       £8.91 per hour

Purpose of the Job:

I am a young boy in the Stoke-on-Trent area with a diagnosis of Myotonic Dystrophy. As a result of my condition, I have some development delay including my speech development and mobility difficulties. My mum has also been diagnosed with the same condition who cannot take me out independently therefore I require a personal assistant to accompany us both on outings of choice especially during weekends and holidays from school.

 

Personal Assistant Specification:

The personal assistant must be reliable and able to work flexible hours and to have respect for the young person’s privacy and confidentiality. It is essential the PA has a positive attitude to maintain the positive wellbeing of the young person.

The PA needs to be positive, respectful & have a good sense of humour whilst always remaining vigilant & professional.

The PA needs to be friendly & committed, with good interactive skills. The aim is to establish an enjoyable, trusting, & long-term working relationship.

The person may have experience in working with young people with a family with disabilities, but it is essential that you are a caring person with an abundance of common sense.

The young person would prefer the PA to be a responsible car driver.

The PA needs to be aware of the risks & dangers to the young person & respond appropriately to any emergency.

They must also understand the need for confidentiality in all areas of work.

 The personal assistants do need to be in good health and have the physical skilfulness of moving, handling, pushing, and bending.

My assistant must be honest, trustworthy, and reliable, must respect my privacy and maintain my dignity at all times.

My assistant must be enthusiastic and flexible with a caring disposition. You must be able to work well independently.

Need to have social care experience

Need to have access to vehicle with business insurance for work purposes as the job will involve you taking me out in your car.

The post is subject to an enhanced DBS disclosure and safeguarding training which will be funded through your employer

Supervision:

My personal assistant is accountable to both of my parents in all aspects of their work. They should always ask what my needs are and listen to my directions and requests.

Main Duties

  • To support to access regular leisure and social activities of choice
  • To support with activities within the home
  • To support with any personal care required such as changing of incontinence pads.

The main duties identified in the job description are examples of the expectations required; I may on occasions reasonably request additional activities to be undertaken inside or outside of the home.

“Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers.  Should your application be successful, and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by the customer and not by PeoplePlus”

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...