Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

Support Worker

PER519854 LB/LT
Eastbourne

PER519854 LB/LT Support worker

I am a young man with special needs. I have a learning disability and severe hearing loss. I use Makaton and some sign language plus pictures to help me communicate. I have epilepsy and asthma that are both well controlled with medication. I am a very active lad and I enjoy the company of other people. I am unaware of danger e.g. roads etc. I love trains, transport, animals and going for walks. Some people view my behaviour as challenging, but this improves once you get to know me, and strategies for dealing with me. It is essential to work as part of a team as at times, two workers will take me out. It is important that you reflect the work of my parents and other services in not seeing my behaviour as ‘naughty’ but in working to get to know me and praising the positive things I do.

Generally, any work with me is 2:1 especially during your induction when you will be working with a more experienced staff member. I also need bank staff to cover my regular worker’s annual leave and sickness and times of peak need. I do various activities at other times.

Must be driver with own car

Experience with Challenging behaviour

Experience with people who are non-verbal an advantage

Makaton Skills

Days and times to be discussed at interview but will include Tuesdays from 15.00 until 20.00 and alternate Thursday and Fridays from 15.00 until 20.00.

Also 1 Saturday and 1 Sunday per month 10.00 until 17.00

Hourly rate starts £10.00ph this will increase to £15.00ph after a successful probationary period. There is also 100% Bank Holiday enhancement.