Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo

Carer - part time or full time

8 - 40 / per week - Flexi-Time
Cambridge ,

About me

I am an 80 year old lady living independently in Cambridge town centre.  I am a retired professor and I have a love of and appreciation of Japanese culture.
I require assistance to enable me to remain independent in my own home.  I require support with all transfers, continence care, toileting, personal care and assistance with dressing/undressing.  Support with meal/drink preparation and assistance with feeding as required.
It is important for me to have the continuity of regular and reliable support workers.
I am looking for team of 6 to 8 people who can support me through the week and be able to cover for holidays, sickness, training days.
The support will not start until I have successfully recruited a team of staff.
Hours and rate of Pay

I require support 7 days a week with 2 workers assisting with transfers, I am very happy for either male or female workers to support me.
1½ hours in the morning
1½ hours lunchtime
30 minutes teatime
30 minutes evening
Actual times can be discussed as I am flexible, but it is important that 2 workers support me at the same time.
Total 4 hours per day per worker – number of hours per week can be discussed further at interview
£13.25 per hour
The post will include 5.6 weeks paid annual leave (pro-rata)
Enhanced Disclosure and Barring Service check will be required.
What you would be doing…

To assist with all transfers via hoist to/from bed/ armchair and commode, ensuring that I am positioned safely in my armchair and assist with applying continence pads regularly between care visits.
To be mindful of my nutritional requirements, including assistance with feeding as required. This can on occasion take some time but is necessary to maintain nutritional intake and weight
I will advise care staff of what items of clothing I wish to wear daily, and I will instruct staff which items require washing.
You should be mindful to ensure close attention is given to these key areas. I will require clear communication with attention given to my preferences with completing such tasks.
Establish a close working relationship on a one-to-one basis and discuss and resolve problems as they arise and to undertake any training as appropriate for the role.
The person I would like…

Do you currently work in the care field and do you know of one other person you could potentially partner up with to support me? 
I require support from either male or female workers.
Someone who has care experience and experience of moving and handling and use of hoists or willing to undergo moving and handling and hoist training.
You should have experience of working with older people who can be verbally challenging, use inappropriate language and be physically challenging. 
You must have proven strategies in place to manage these behaviours.
You should have a genuine interest in the provision of high-quality care, be able to work flexible hours and be a good communicator.
Be hardworking, reliable, committed, honest, and trustworthy with cheerful a sense of humour. 
In return you will have the opportunity to practice your skills, keep up to date with professional development as training will be provided.