Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

PERSONAL ASSISTANT

POW528965(LK)
9.65 PER HOUR
Permanent
Part-Time

POW528965(LK)

Job Description

About Me

I am a gentleman of 89, an ex farmer living independently in a chalet next to family and the farm in the Llanbrynmair area.  I have a keen interest in livestock, nature and countryside and enjoy to go outside in my wheelchair and rides out in the car.

I am very visually impaired and almost blind.  I can only make out shadows.

I have a good sense of humour and enjoy a chat and a joke.

I am an independent person who likes to do as much as I can for myself.  My shoulders are still now and I can’t raise my arms much so need support with dressing / undressing.  I use a frame to get around around my chalet and use a wheelchair outside.  I also have a catheter.

I’m looking to find a reliable, friendly PA to join my other carers to promote and maintain me to continue living independently.

 

Days and Hours of work

6.25 Hours per week pro rata

Every Friday – evening call – 1 hour -  8.00pm – 9.00pm

Alternate Weekends –

Saturday – 3 x calls –

7.30 – 8.00am start – 1 hour breakfast call

12.00pm – 1 hour lunch call

8.00pm – 1 hour evening call

 

Sunday – 2 x calls

7.30 / 8.00am start – 2 hour call

8.00pm – 1 hour evening call

 

2.25 additional hours to be used flexibly to take me out, for a cup of tea in Machynlleth or a ride in the car for example.  These could be added onto above calls to extend shift.

All expenses paid for journeys made with or on behalf of me. 

Does not include travel to and from place of work.

 

Rate of Pay

£9.65 per hour

£19.30 per hour any bank holidays worked

5.6 weeks paid annual leave pro rata per year

Pay is monthly by BACS

 

TRAINING

Any necessary training will be provided

Tasks and Duties    

  • Dressing and undressing in morning and evening
  • Assistance with showering and washing (shower call every other day)
  • Shaving my face
  • Assistance with dressing after shower
  • Keeping my chalet clean and tidy
  • Preparing meals and drinks – breakfast, lunch, supper
  • Personal Care
  • Catheter care
  • Interacting with me, good company and conversation
  • Getting ready for bed
  • Taking me for a ride in the car
  • Taking me to Machynlleth for a cup of tea
  • Supporting me to sit outside
  • You may also be asked to undertake any other reasonable tasks that may be necessary including those in the tasks above

         

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Someone Patient
  • Bubbly and Chatty
  • Good company and conversation
  • Good listener
  • Good Communicator
  • Good Sense Of Humour
  • Someone who could be flexible with working hours
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home
  • Work off own initiative
  • Someone Reliable
  • Honest and Trustworthy
  • Care experience desirable but not essential as full training will be given and having the right attitude is the most important thing

About The Job

This position requires a national insurance number.

You will be asked to undergo an enhanced DBS police check at no cost to yourself.

To apply:

ONLINE - Enter precisely in (specifically) Google search engine – POW528965(LK) which will take you to where you can apply.

Or, request an application form via our registered email address ilspowys@peopleplus.co.uk or call 0330 123 2815 quoting the reference number POW528965(LK)

Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers. Should your application be successful, you will be directly employed by the customer and not PeoplePlus.