Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

PA/carer for active, working, physically disabled gay man, no agency (£10.85ph, £22-26K)

MS FT 30-7-21
£10.85
Permanent
24 - 72 / per week - Full-Time
London Borough of Tower Hamlets ,
London Borough of Tower Hamlets

Description

Do you want a PA/support worker's job that is different? And in a good way. This advert summarises key information:

- about me, and the role

- about you

- how to apply

About me, and the role

I am an active, working, physically disabled gay man with a busy life. You will be supporting me to live an independent life, with tasks ranging from personal care tasks, house work and cooking through to paperwork and travel. Requires sleep-over at night (but not permanent live-in) and weekend work. I have a track record of my PAs staying around for quite a while, so I reckon I'm a pretty good guy to work for!

You will work for me directly; there is no agency involved. This is a real opportunity to assist someone to live their life the way they want, and we should develop a good, friendly, working relationship. The whole point of this job is that you do the things I need help with so that I can live life in the same way that anyone else does. I've got a good job, and get out a lot socially, so this definitely isn't the kind of job where you're pushing someone around in the park!

Based in Wapping, London, but will involve some UK and international travel. I live very close to Wapping (Overground) Station, so it's pretty easy for people to get to me.

Standard hourly rate will be £10.85 (London Living Wage) and an annual income of around £22-26K, based on someone working full-time (2 or 3 shifts per week/10 per month). This will be proportionately less if you will work part-time (1 or 2 shifts per week/5 per month). It also gets affected by how much you work at weekends and how many trips you come on with me. Since COVID all PAs have been doing nearly 24-hour shifts (you do get to sleep at night) and a full 24-hour shift gives a gross pay of £243.36, so 10 of those a month isn't bad.

About you

I’ve been employing my own PAs for over 10 years, and can help you make the transition to doing this kind of work. You don't need qualifications or previous experience to work for me - in fact it's probably an advantage - I want a human being to work for me, not a professional carer!

This job is ideal for people who do not want to work standard hours, or study or have another (flexible) part-time activity or employment.

The job does require good physical strength, because you have to lift and move me, which is why I assess this in the application form and the interview process. I weigh about 65 kg. You will get manual handling training but I don't use a hoist.

Good English is certainly a great help, and the ability to drive in the UK is essential. Because of my car insurance you will ideally be 25 or over, although I can consider people between 21 and 25 subject to driving history. It will depend on what it does to my insurance premiums.

How to apply

If you think is the role for you click on the link 

https://mikedgsmith.wixsite.com/pajob.

It will take you to a website I've built with a lot of information, some videos and an application form.

Because this is a relatively well-paid PA/caring job I tend to get quite a lot of application forms, so do think carefully about your answer because I'm unlikely to shortlist very short answers.

Thanks everyone. I look forward to hearing from you.