Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

Support worker for a young man in Eynesbury

SJ/535335 - A
£10 - £11.30 per hour depending on experience
Permanent
Eynesbury ,
St Neots

J is 24. He really enjoys anything to do with trains but also farm animals, planes and buses. He attends youth club (pre-covid), a wheelchair sports club and loves spending time with his friends. He has a severe learning difficulty and complex health and care needs and though he loves time doing his own thing at home he also enjoys going out with support to his favourite places and has always enjoyed time with carers. He communicates by sign and use of a communication programme on his iPad.

J is often initially very shy but he has a good sense of fun and enjoys lots of silliness. He responds best to people who engage with him through his interests.

He lives at home in St Neots with mum and his cat.

 

£10-11.30 per hour depending on experience, plus paid annual leave

Around 10-14 hours per week.

We can be flexible with days/times but some mutually agreed fixed hours will be required each week.

This will include the first Saturday morning each month for sports club and also at least one morning from 7am.

Youth club Tuesday evening once this resumes.

Plus additional flexible hours desirable during weekend/evening/night.

Please note that there will be no in-person contact or start until April earliest when hopefully the covid situation will be more favourable. Initial chat and interview will be via phone/zoom.

 

You will support J both at home and to take part in community activities. Once safe to resume it will include one train trip per week, his favourite day.

Push J in his manual wheelchair (he’s quite small) and closely supervise him in his power chair.

Drive our wheelchair accessible vehicle.

Provide full support with his personal care including pads, toileting, showering, tube feeding, medication, food and drinks. Our home is fully adapted for his needs including hoists and wet room.

Support J with his communication and advocate for him to ensure his choices are heard when in group situations.

Engage in J’s choice of activities at home and carry out his physio exercises with him through play. J can be very fixed in his idea of what he wants to do. A level of tolerance of repetition/routine will be needed as well as an enthusiasm to introduce him to other activities.

PA’s need to be willing to support him alone once we are all confident but to also work alongside mum and on occasion alongside J’s friends and their PA’s.

 

Essential:

 

  • You will have previous experience with children or young people with special needs in a care or education setting.

 

Be willing to undertake training as needed.

 

  • Have excellent spoken English.

 

Ability to sign to a basic level (Makaton or Sign Supported English)

 

Full UK manual driving license.

 

Current DBS or update service.

 

Be a non-smoker

 

  • Reasonable level of fitness to be able to push J in his wheelchair for the day and carry out moving and handling using the equipment available. J is a small adult at 47kg.

 

Punctual and able to follow instructions carefully.

 

Able to work on own initiative.

 

Confidentiality is essential to our family.

 

The most important requirement is that the PA and J just click!

 

All relevant checks will be undertaken including DBS and references and will be subject to a probationary period

 

Because J is clinically extremely vulnerable, you will be expected to have covid vaccination and strictly observe all precautions including wearing of appropriate PPE. You will qualify as an essential frontline health care worker if you have not yet had a vaccine.

 

Desirable:

 

Some deaf awareness/Multi-sensory impairment awareness, though specifics for J can be taught.

 

Recent training relevant to the role. eg manual handling,

administration of medicines, tube feeding, first aid