Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

PERSONAL ASSISTANT / SUPPORT WORKER

POW527782(LK)
9.00 per hour
Permanent
4 / per week - Part-Time
LLANDRINDOD WELLS

Job Description – Personal Assistant

About Myself

I am a chatty 39 year old man living independently in my own flat in Llandrindod Wells.  I’m a bit of a joker and have a good sense of cheeky humour.

I have been diagnosed as being on the Autistic Spectrum.  

This can impact on my social skills which can in turn make me feel isolated.

I am looking for a Personal Assistant to support me in the community and increase my social inclusion.

I am an interesting person who likes to learn things in depth.  I like to read autobiographies, watch action films, Martin Lawrence & Jim Carey films are a favourite, and certain types of comedy.  I take a really keen interest in WWE wrestling.  I would love to experience a WWE, rugby or football event in the future.  I enjoy gaming, bowling and occasional trips to the cinema.

I am keen to have some unique experiences, but do find my Asperge’s holds me back a bit, and this is where the right support with organising trips and outings could have a really positive outcome for me.

I feel it is important to highlight that I am not looking for someone to “fix” me or change me, I am looking for someone to support me as I am, and getting to know me and what my triggers are.

My mood fluctuates from day to day, I have up days and down days.  I am looking for someone who can be adaptable and sensitive to how I am on the day.

 

Days and Hours of work

4 Hours Per Week

Very Flexible and Negotiable – to be mutually agreed

Weekdays only, no bank holidays

mainly day times, may include occasional evenings –

Likely to be on 1 or 2 weekdays per week -

Flexible depending on what we do

 

Tasks and Duties   

  • Accompany me to places I enjoy – both by Driving me and using public transport with me – e.g bowling, shopping to Hereford, Café for coffee/lunch, trips to Brecon / Newtown
  • Organising and planning activities for us to do with my approval
  • Research into places that we could go that may be of interest to me
  • Ensure I am safe
  • Engaging in activities with me – e.g staying in gaming, charity shop shopping
  • Support me with managing my paperwork and medical appointments, talking to people on the phone on my behalf
  • Accompany me to medical appointments I.e dentist
  • Liaise with my family on how I am getting on
  • Any other reasonable task that may be necessary

 

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Good sense of humour
  • Good listener
  • Someone with an understanding of Asperger’s
  • Reliable
  • Someone proactive
  • A person who respects the privacy and confidentiality of working in someone else’s home
  • Able to work off own initiative
  • Good communication skills
  • Someone kind and patient
  • Someone confident and supportive but not overpowering
  • Honest and Trustworthy
  • Experience either personal or in similar work is essential
  • Someone who can be adaptable and sensitive to my fluctuating mood
  • Car driver and owner desirable
  • Similar interests desirable

Rate of Pay

£9.00 per hour

Pay is monthly by BACS

Expenses covered, mileage for journeys we make together paid at 0.40p per mile

TRAINING

There is no mandatory training for this job.

A person with the appropriate experience, attitude and commitment will be able to do the job. 

About The job

This position requires a national insurance number.

Applicants will be required to undergo an enhanced DBS police check at no cost to yourself.

To apply:

Apply on line –

in Google search engine, precisely enter POW527782(LK)

Please request an application form via our registered email address or call 0330 123 2815 quoting the reference number POW527782(LK)

 

Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers. Should your application be successful, you will be directly employed by the customer and not PeoplePlus.