Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

Support worker

TM531360
£8.91 Per hour
Permanent
Waterbeach ,
Waterbeach

ABOUT ME

I am 33 year old disabled guy and use an electric wheelchair.  I need assistance with everyday life.

 I am easy going, have a BA in creative writing and enjoy good conversation.  I like history, computer games, RPG, watching wrestling, American football and music.

I like being active and its important for me to have continuity of regular and reliable support workers

I require support with personal care and assistance during the night.  I use a nippy 3 ventilator with oxygen and am unable to adjust my mask.  Also, I am unable to adjust my position and will need assistance becoming comfortable to endure a good night’s sleep.

WHAT YOU WILL BE DOING

Support with personal care in a dignified manor.

Personal care, hoisting into bed, undressing, bed washing, physiotherapy stretches, connecting mask and breathing equipment.

Bed rolling through the night and any assistance required to the toilet or mask adjustment.

Double up with day carer in the morning for toileting showering, hoisting back into bed for dressing and into wheelchair for day.

Support with everyday chores laundry maintaining the domestic environment to the required standard.

Establish a close working relationship on a one-to-one basis

Discuss and resolve problems as they arise

Maintain daily written records and undertake any duties which may be reasonably allocated and fall within the scope and responsibility of the job.  Needs may vary on a daily basis; therefore hours, duties and tasks may alter from the care plan.

To undertake any training as appropriate for the role

THE PERSON I WOULD LIKE

Someone who enjoys being active, who has the skills to give me support with building my confidence & self-esteem & promoting my independence. Some knowledge and experience with working with people with physical disabilities. You should have a genuine interest in the provision of high-quality care, be able to work flexible hours and be a good communicator and also possess the motivation to develop trust and understanding within the role.

Be hardworking, reliable, committed, honest, and trustworthy with cheerful a sense of humour

HOURS AND RATE OF PAY

10 waking hours per night, job share days to be agreed.

£8.91 per hour

Between the hours of 22,00 and 8am (negotiable by 1 hour)

You will  be able to use WiFi, Tv (at reduced sound level)  in the lounge during your break as Liam has a call system.

The post will include 5.6 weeks paid annual leave (pro-rata)

Enhanced Disclosure and Barring Service check will be required