Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

Personal Assistant/Carer

JI/PER518865/AH
Monthly
Permanent
Brighton ,
Brighton

I am a housebound artist in my 50’s with severe ME/CFS and balance problems living right in the middle of Brighton (in the North Laine). I need a task based, person-centred Disability Personal Assistant who can complete domestic chores in a competent and friendly manner, be someone I can trust and feel secure with, who will enable me to live my life well and independently. Being an artistic and practical soul, I flourish in a supportive, person-focussed environment and need resourceful people who can converse well and respect boundaries. I’d like to hear from you if you can commit to longer term work starting in the Spring.

 

Available shifts are: Every Monday and Friday morning 3hr shifts starting 10am.

Work Duties will include:

 

Helping with

Maintenance of home environment such as: hoovering, cleaning surfaces/floors (I don’t use bleaches), kitchen duties, cleaning shower, changing bedding/making bed, washing, watering outdoor plants. Help to do small DIY tasks including lifting.

Personal care is non-intimate, no lifting required.

Some food prep as needed, note, I now eat meat.

Undertaking activities for employer

Outside of home duties include: posting parcels, taking rubbish out, top-up-shopping.

Administrative support and phone communication with external services – emails, typing, sorting through paperwork etc.

Maintenance of disability aids including wheelchair.

 

 

 

Other requirements

Having a person-centred approach.

Ability to see myself as an autonomous person capable of making my own decisions.

This is an employer-employee relationship, rather than a ‘befriender’ role, so you’ll need to keep personal life, opinions and ways of doing things separate from this job.

Flexibility to cover other PA’s holidays/illness.

Good health as my immune system is compromised, non-smoker required.

DBS, proof of right to work/passport, minimum two references.

My needs change daily so being resourceful and able to cope with change is vital.

Location

North Laine, Central Brighton

 

Hours and rate of pay

Employee beginning rate £9.00/hr then up to £9.50/hr, plus holidays.

Self-employed beginning rate £10.00/hr then up to £10.50/hr. Must have up to date Personal Care Assistant Insurance and confirmation of Unique Taxpayer Reference (UTR). Proof of right-to-work

Continuing on-the-job training given. Contract.

 

Requirements for applicant

Adaptable, honest, confidentiality, good at listening and taking cues from myself.

Amenable, good sense of humor, empathetic and person-focused.

Good boundaries, able to build good relationships and not bring problems into the workplace.

Being non-judgmental with an awareness of disability issues and the impact these have.

Excellent timekeeping and reliability, good organizational skills and computer literate.

Good at taking instructions, be able to work along-side myself and also work independently. Being part of a team that you may never see.

Preferable requirements:

Confident car driver and available car with appropriate insurance.

Disability Personal Assistant experience but my need to recruit the right person is more important.

 

“Equality’s Act: Section 9; Schedule 83 [Work: Exceptions] (Part 1; Occupational Requirements) - applies to this post”

 

 

  • ‘Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers.  Should your application be successful and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by the customer and not by PeoplePlus’