Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

Personal Assistant

SW/533272/JW
£9.00
Permanent
3 - 4 / per week - Part-Time
Eastbourne

Area of work: Eastbourne

Background to the job: I am a 17-year-old young man who has autism and I am looking for a support worker to assist me to go out and about in the community. My interests are trains, buses and river locks. I am looking for someone to take me out to swimming, bowling and maybe to a café. I am looking for someone as a bank worker to occasionally help me on a Wednesday or Thursday or maybe sometimes alternating between the two, if this is something you can do. We would be looking at around 4-7pm. We also have additional hours in the summer holidays where we would be looking to use 6 hours in one block at a time to suit us both.   This is the first time I have used a PA so I and my parents may need to tweak things slightly at first so we can get things right.

 

Hours / Times of Work:

Wednesday or Thursdays (or a mixture of both) from 4-7pm plus additional hours in the school holidays

 

Rates of Pay and other Benefits: £9.00 per hour plus 5.6 weeks annual leave

 

Main Duties and Responsibilities:

Taking me to my activities by car, (use of car for work, full licence and business insurance required)

Assisting me with any tasks I require whilst we are out

A genuine enjoyment of working with clients with autism or learning difficulties, ideally with previous experience but your enthusiasm is most important

 

Essential Requirements:

It is IMPORTANT that you meet ALL the Essential Requirements BEFORE you apply for the job.

Calm, friendly approach.

I am scared of birds and dogs so an ability to calm the situation is a must

Good physical fitness as I can run quite fast

Patience

Good sense of humour

Reliable and organised

 

Desirable Requirements:

Previous care experience working with young people with autism or learning difficulties.

DBS Check: You will be required to undertake an enhanced DBS as part of this role and will be unable to start this post until it is in place