Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

PERSONAL ASSISTANT

POW519701(LK)
£9.00 per hour
Permanent
9 / per week - Part-Time

 JOB DESCRIPTION (01.21)

ABOUT ME

I am a young disabled non-binary person living independently in the centre of Machynlleth. I am a part-time wheelchair user. My disability means I need support to maintain my home environment, socialise, shop and attend appointments.

PLACE OF WORK

In my home, around Machynlleth and other local areas, and further afield.

PURPOSE OF THE JOB

In the home, you would be helping me to maintain my everyday routines and domestic tasks and health/nutrition. Tasks would include hoovering, mopping the floors, laundry, changing the bed, general organising and other reasonable tasks, including organising my recycling and changing the litter for my cat.

I need prompting and accompanying with tasks that keep me healthy and comfortable. That will include prompts for showers, painkillers, outdoor exercise, and similar self-care things.

I need support with meal preparation and cooking. This will mean shopping with me for ingredients, and then batch-cooking with me or alone. I also require advocacy help such as day-to-day phone calls and queries, and I sometimes need support dealing with post and forms.

Outside of the home, I need support in accessing the community. I need help crossing roads. I need support going shopping, socialising and attending appointments. I find unfamiliar environments and meeting new people stressful. In particular I need help adapting to sudden changes of plan. Part of the role would be to support me locally attending the dentist, opticians, and other appointments, some in Aberystwyth. I need help dealing with the pharmacy, my prescriptions and organising my meds. Post-pandemic I would like to start a local support group and would like help with starting it and attending the meetings.

In the long-term I will be having surgeries in London, which will require several nights away from home and assistance in the hospital before and after the surgery.

HOURS OF WORK

9 hours per week.

I employ 2 PAs, who work 9 hours per week each. Days and hours are flexible. A person who would be flexible with this would be useful. This job is best shared between 2 people as support is required several days per week and sometimes cover is needed for illness or annual leave. These hours are permanent.

Also extra hours for the series of visits to London.

RATES OF PAY

£9.00 per hour.

Travel expenses by train while supporting me will be covered.

TASKS

  • As mentioned above
  • Support with daily routines
  • Personal care support
  • Domestic tasks
  • Supporting me whilst I am out in the community
  • Other reasonable tasks
  • Keeping in touch and co-ordinating with other PAs and myself via instant messaging and email

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

  • Fluent in internet, responsive to online communication
  • Ideally familiar with trans and non-binary issues, in particular fluent use of gender-neutral pronouns and gender-neutral language
  • Tendency towards honest and literal communication
  • Patient
  • Committed
  • Responsible
  • A good time keeper
  • Friendly and good company
  • Flexible
  • Positive approach to disabled people
  • The most important qualification is that we can get on well!

 

ABOUT THE JOB

I will be your legal employer so you will need to submit your National Insurance Number and to be registered on the payroll, run by PeoplePlus. Pay will be four-weekly and appropriate paid annual leave is given. There will be a trial period of one month and a probationary period of 3 months involved, and references will be necessary. A Contract of Employment will be provided.

You will be required to undergo an enhanced DBS police check at no cost to yourself.

There will be regular informal supervision sessions.

FROM PEOPLEPLUS:

If you are interested in this job, please register your interest to;

ilsPowys@peopleplus.co.uk

Quote reference; POW519701(LK)

You will then be requested to complete an application form which will be submitted to the employer.

OR –

In Google search engine (specifically), enter the job reference precisely POW519701(LK)

Where you will be taken to the job & where you can apply on line.

Please note that this advert/Job Description has been placed on behalf of one of our clients. Should your application be successful and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by our client and not by People Plus.