Your browser is unsupported!

Update your browser to view this website correctly

Firefox logo Chrome logo Safari logo Opera logo
x

Personal Assistant Sarnau Brecon

POW486714MGS
Hourly Rate of Pay
Permanent
26 - 30 / per week - Full-Time

Job Description POW486714(MGS)

Personal

I am a young lady living on the outskirts of Brecon, I use a wheelchair daily and have an adapted vehicle. I live with my parents and my dogs. I enjoy swimming, baking, cinema, shopping and visiting friends and family and going on holiday and also crafting.

Main Duties:

Provide support with personal care including showering, bathing, dressing and toileting as per her instructions and needs.

Assistance with meal preparation and cooking if required. An awareness of Food Safety and Hygiene is essential. Keeping the working area clean and tidy after you have supported with the task at hand

Support and encourage her independence and preserve her personal sense of well-being.

To be confident in water although you don’t necessarily need to be able to swim.

To support with weekly shopping.

Be able to push a manual wheelchair, I use an electric chair around the house.

To assist me to carry out general housework around my living space.

Be able to drive a large vehicle, and have a full clean driving licence which has to have been held for 12 months. To ensure she is able to fully express her individuality and determine for herself choices around Direct Payments. To support with all of the activities above to enable me to live an independent life.

Person Specification: Proactive energetic and outgoing kind nature. A good sense of humour and bubbly personality.

To be mindful of my needs and perceptive of my state of mind at various times of the day and adjust your responses appropriately. Caring, honest, responsible and calm nature, treating the person with respect and dignity. Able to use own initiative and be self-motivated. Flexibility around hours of work and main duties of the job. Reliable with excellent time keeping. Able to maintain confidentiality and be aware of privacy of all in the family home. Good communication and inter-personal skills. An ability to develop and maintain a supportive relationship providing reassurance and encouragement when needed.

There are dogs in the house and you need to be accepting of my dogs and that I value them above anything else.

 

Benefits

Rate of Pay £9.10/hour, Double time bank holidays.

Week 1 - 3 days, Week 2 - 4 days, you will be required for every other weekend. 5.6 weeks holiday per year (pro rata). Sick pay at SSP rate. Training provided to support you in your role. This appointment is subject to an enhanced DBS check, which will incur no cost to the applicant. If you have an online update DBS you have a greater chance of becoming shortlisted for this position as this can help the employer to recruit much quicker, if you wish to update your current DBS please go to https://www.gov.uk/dbs-update-service