Part time/Casual Female carer

Job Reference
PTCFC-IC-C-116171
Salary Description
£12.30 per hour rising to £15.30ph after successful completion of a 3 month introductory period
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
Royston ,
Royston
Advert

Part time/Female Carer (Casual), in SG8

£12.30 per hr, Rising to £15.30ph. (After a successful completion of a 3 month introductory period).


 About the service user

I am a 33 year old young lady living in Orwell SG8.  I have a physical disability call Spinal Muscular Atrophy.  This means I use an electric wheelchair for all my mobility needs and I need the use of hoisting equipment for all transfers. In 2020 I was diagnosed as being on the Autistic spectrum but generally I cope well.  Also in Sep 2020 I had a stroke and a second in Sep 2021, I have just undergone surgery to remove the Cavernoma that was causing my strokes.  I am now back to normal as far as my disability allows.  I also suffer from anxiety.  It is very important to me that I have the continuity of regular and reliable carers.  At present I have a small team but I need to expand.  I need help with all personal care, transfers using hoisting equipment and help with light household duties. 


Hours and rate of Pay:37.5 hours per week with the following shift pattern; Thursday Evening & Waking night – 7pm – 8.30am.  Friday 7pm – 9pm.  Saturday & Sunday Morning 8.30am – 11am,  & lunch 1.30pm – 3.30pm.  Sunday Evening and Waking night 7pm – 8.30am. £12.30 per hour rising to £15.30ph after a successful completion of a 3 month introductory period. The post will include 5.6 weeks paid annual leave (pro rata). There will be the option of working extra shifts, as my other carers take annual leave and to cover sickness.


 What you would be doing:

Support with all personal care in a dignified manner.  Light household duties including meal preparation, cooking, washing up, feeding my cats, emptying the bins, general tidying up and helping me with anything that I cannot do by myself.  Administering medication (tablets and syrup, no injections) morning and evening. 


The person I would like :
Due to the personal care involved this role is for female only applicants.  No experience necessary, you need to be ok around cats as I have 3.  You will need to be able to drive with your own transport due to location (public transport is rubbish)  You must be honest, reliable, have a caring nature and be prepared to establish a close working relationship with me on a 1:1 basis. You should be able to discuss and resolve problems as they arise and report to my mum any risks or issues that you feel may affect me. Undertake training as needed. Occasional support on evening trips and the possibility of accompanying me on family holidays. 


  “Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers.  Should your application be successful, and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by the customer and not by PeoplePlus”

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...