Personal Care Assistant

Job Reference
PCA-IC-N-113923-3
Salary Description
£11.50 per hour
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
Ruskington ,
Ruskington
Advert

Personal Care Assistant Ruskington, NG34
£11.50 per hour 


About Me
I am a 25 yr old quadriplegic female, who acquired a high-level spinal cord injury in late 2016 when I was 17 years old. I have 2 dogs and 2 cats. I am currently crazy about K-pop and I am learning to speak Korean. We are a non-smoking household. I live in a rural area within Lincolnshire so you will need to ensure you have adequate means of transport to get here; we do have a train station, but trains are not as reliable or regular as nearby towns. I like going to concerts, zoos, cinemas and getting lots of tattoos. I like having my nails done monthly and generally being out of the house as much as I can in between essential appointments. 


Hours & Pay Rate
Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday 9am -5pm and Tuesday 12-8pm. Friday hours are subject to change when I increase my physio from 1 to 2 days a week.  40 hrs per week at £11.50 per hour. Mutual trial period of 1 month and probation period of 3 months during which time, a minimum of 1 weeks’ notice must be given. Following probation period, a minimum of 1 months’ notice of intention to leave must be given by carer. 5.6 weeks holiday a year and there is a possibility of coming on holiday with us. An enhanced DBS check is required. 


Main Duties
No medical experience required aside from administering pre-prepared medications and attaching catheter drainage bag when required. Full training on these will be given. Must be a driver with full, clean driving licence, willing and able to drive a large manual WAV as travel to Hemel Hempstead (currently once weekly with the prospect of increasing to twice weekly in the next 4 months) for physio is an essential part of my routine as well as other appointments and social outings. DBS required or willingness to obtain one prior to starting and full home employment and vehicle insurance is provided by us. General tasks include, amongst others, preparing and assisting with food and drink, accompanying me on trips out including leisure activities and medical appointments as well as general everyday companionship. An extremely high level of commitment and punctuality is essential due to other family members work commitments.


 Person Specification
I would like a PA of similar age and interests. It is important that I find somebody who will take everything as is and who will fit in with my life and family. We, as a family, are striving to ensure we function as normally as possible. My mum and dad are currently my main carers and they will continue to do so when required.  I would like somebody who is outgoing, as well as somebody that can tolerate cats and dogs. Sense of humour is a must, along with a love of music. Must be caring, reliable, adaptable and punctual. Prior knowledge of Spinal Cord Injuries would be useful but is not essential however you must be prepared to learn about everything involved in this area. Some health care knowledge/experience also useful but, again, not essential as the main priority is companionship. Must not be afraid to ask questions.


“Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers.  Should your application be successful, and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by the customer and not by PeoplePlus”  

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...