PA/Support worker

Job Reference
PSW-IS-S-115545
Salary Description
Competitive
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
Brighton and Hove
Advert

Autistic trans man loves swimming and music
I'm an autistic trans man with ADHD and assorted chronic health conditions living in Hove. I am interested in music history, current affairs and art and enjoy swimming and music.

I am looking for an honest, practical, patient, and open-minded person with good boundaries to support me for 9 hours per week, two or three afternoons a week.

Applicants from marginalised communities welcomed. Previous experience of working with autistic people is preferable, but not essential if you are keen to learn and gain experience with developmental disabilities.



I need help to plan my week, and support to consider all my needs including rest and fun. I’m open to new ideas and trying different approaches to improving my wellbeing.

I need support with medical appointments and with navigating systems such as the NHS and the trans healthcare system. I need someone who can advocate for me and my needs as they get to know me better. It’s also important a PA can take good notes for me in formal situations, such as meetings and phone calls, particularly of any necessary follow up actions.

I struggle to take in detailed information sometimes. So, I would appreciate a PA who has good attention to detail and likes researching options, to support me make bigger decision, such as on a mobile contract for example.

I can become easily overwhelmed in certain situations so it would be good to have a PA who is able to develop an understanding of this need, and help to plan ahead and help de-escalate such situations. And be a calm presence. 



I enjoy cooking but need some help with planning tasty, healthy, vegan meals whether readymade or home cooked. I also need help keeping my kitchen clean and ready for me to prepare food. Prompts to remember things I might forget. Help with life admin (support with form filling etc). Also medication organisation. Practical basic DIY skills appreciated but not essential. 



During the earlier part of Covid I went out a lot less. I would like to try more fun stuff again but might need some encouragement and support at first. I’d particularly be interested in learning new things such as a musical instrument but would welcome different ideas too as I’d like to have new experiences.

It’s important to me that any PA I have is respectful of my concerns around Covid and has some awareness of potential Covid impact on people with chronic illness. It would be good to work outside and in sheltered areas as much as possible.

Some of the PA work will be carried out remotely online via video calls. PAs need to be willing to wear a mask in indoor spaces when working together. 
Rate of pay is £14.30ph.

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...