Personal Assistant /Support Worker

Job Reference
SNA/520248/CS
Salary Description
50 % enhancement for working on a bank holiday
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
Eastbourne
Advert

Background to the job

I am a newly remarried woman who’s husband is also disabled. I have a progressive neurological disorder and am an intermittent wheelchair user. I am not able to stand still for any length of time and cannot lift or carry to sort. I moved 4 years ago, downsizing considerably but have lost the ability to do steps since then and certainly can’t get into the loft, which needs sorting and taking to charity shops. I also have a lot (too many) animals (only the cats inside) and need help (no hands on with animals required unless you want to) keeping their environments clean, sorting the shed which is an ongoing process through the seasons and keeping the outside of my house looking cared for

I like to think I am fun to work for; my existing PAs have been with me for over 14 years

Hours / Times of Work

Flexible depending on workload and my energy as much will need to be guided but has been approx 4 hours a fortnight but I am happy to talk about this especially as I need someone to start yesterday! Please note this has previously been a zero hours contract post and partly due to weather there may be months where I need more than 8 hours and months where I need less, but always happy to chat this through and am approachable 

 

Rates of Pay and other Benefits

Pay is £11.50 an hour

Main Duties and Responsibilities

Examples are telling me what’s in loft and carrying stuff down and taking to charity shops ( or loading my car to take them). Helping me with click and collect and whilst out helping me by lifting bags of compost etc for the garden both ends). Weed burning and weeding as the front of my property looks pretty awful compared to everyone else’s and outdoor work. A lot of this Is fairly heavy & you will need to be strong.

Essential Requirements

It is IMPORTANT that you meet ALL the Essential Requirements BEFORE you apply for the job.

No experience needed as I will need to guide you on most tasks as you will not know what I want to go where, so an ability to learn, work together in a lighthearted way, but to use initiative where necessary esp over the course of time. 

Trustworthy, reliable and fairly strong. Flexible. Non smoker whilst at work

 

Desirable Requirements

Car driver would make life easier though as long as you can get here and back.

Gender Restrictions

As there is no personal care involved in this particular post, men and woman can apply. May suit a younger person who could fit in around college or other part time work though I don’t mind.

 

“Equality’s Act: Section 9; Schedule 83 [Work: Exceptions] (Part 1; Occupational Requirements) - applies to this post”

  • ‘Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our customers.  Should your application be successful and you are offered the position, you will be directly employed by the customer and not by PeoplePlus’
We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...