Personal Assistant - Support 12-15 hours PW

Job Reference
MRT530201(CB1)
Salary Description
£13.50 per hour
Contract Type
Permanent
Location
MERTHYR ,
MERTHYR
Advert

Ref no: MRT530201(CB1)

Job Description – Personal Assistant - FULL DRIVERS LICENSE REQUIRED

 

MARCH 2024

  

About Myself

I am a 25-year-old young lady living independently in the Merthyr Tydfil area.

I am a wheelchair user(electric) and use a hoist transfer due to mobility issues.

I have excellent cognitive abilities and can voice my own wishes and views.

In 2019 I was diagnosed with Diabetes I am insulin dependent and use a Libre scanner to test my sugar levels. This remains very unstable at present and requires close monitoring.

Additionally, I suffer with anxiety, which has resulted in feelings of being isolated at home due to fear of going out. I can be very anxious when accessing public places. I may require some emotional support and reassurance when I experience increased anxiety or low mood.

Besides my disabilities, what matters to me is having an opportunity to live a fulfilled life with as much independence as possible.

 

Tasks/ duties required of a Personal Assistant

Personal Care - PA's to undertake all personal care activities, which includes, washing, dental care, hair / skin care, dressing, preparation of breakfast & administration of medication.

Domestic Care - I require support with domestic tasks, cleaning, laundry & household chores

Outdoor activities and appointments - I drive my electric wheelchair around my home & into my specially adapted Motability vehicle with guidance, in order to be transported for outdoor activities. I also require their support to attend all health related appointments.

Additional - I require all meals & drinks prepared for me and access to snacks in between my calls in order to manage my Diabetes safely.

I require support to monitor my Insulin levels, administer &  dispose of the injections safely.

 

Likes

I would like to carry out her own grocery shopping at the supermarket and also to go out shopping for clothes & items for my home.

I would like my P.A's to be able to support me to access more social & leisure opportunities that help to promote my social networks.

I am quite a sociable person, but I need support to build my confidence in social situations.

I have become very isolated over the last year and I am concerned that this could impact on my confidence and mental health.

I also hope to maintain healthy relationships with my family. I also wish to develop more leisure opportunities with the support of my PA.'s such as swimming, physiotherapy and the gym.

 

Working Hours/Pay of Rate

20 flexible hours per week - £13.50 Per Hour (Paid monthly)

Hours need to be flexible to my needs and will be discussed in the interview

TYPE OF PERSON REQUIRED

Please be aware for allergy purposes: I have 2 small but friendly dogs at home

I would ideally like:

  • A person with patience, who understands the complex needs I have
  • A person with a positive can-do attitude
  • A person with a bubbly and easy-going manner
  • A person with personality and character
  • A person who is dependable and arrives on time
  • A person with a positive commitment to this kind of work
  • FULL DRIVERS LICENSE REQUIRED

 

Training

Training is accessible if required for the job role

 

Additional Information

Successful applicant will be subject to a three-month trial period.

A DBS check will be required, this will be at no cost to yourself.

 

To apply:

Apply online – specifically in Google search engine, precisely enter

MRT530201(CB1)  where it will then take you to where you can apply.

Please request an application form via our registered email address ilsmerthyrtydfil@peopleplus.co.uk or call 0330 123 2815 quoting the reference number MRT530201(CB1)

Please note that this advert has been placed on behalf of one of our Service User. Should your application be successful, you will be directly employed by the customer and not PeoplePlus.

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. You can see how we use cookies here..    Ok, I got this
We're working on it!

It'll be ready in a jiffy...